Black Beer, Yellow Cap

28 Jun

Last week was my second time working at Buckeye Brewing this summer.  Two weeks ago, all I did was wipe down the bombers before packaging them in cases and transporting them to the coolers.  As boring as that may sound, no task is menial at a brewery and it allowed me to keep my ears open and ask a lot of questions about the brewery and its history.  My second time round, I worked a 9 hour day: the first half went the same as the previous week and the second half I got to bottle.  I was doing alright until I mixed up the buttons.  The bottling machine works by placing 2 bombers under the fillers and pressing 2 black buttons at the same time.  Then you move the bombers over to the capper and press 2 yellow buttons and 1 bottle is capped at a time.

However, I managed to accidently press the black buttons instead of the yellow when no bombers were under the fillers and so 2 bombers of Hippie IPA went spraying all over the machine, the table, the floor and me while I yelled, “NO NO NO!!! STOP STOP STOP!!!”  I pressed the stop button and called over the owner who was very sweet and told me “It wouldn’t be a brewery if you didn’t get soaked in beer at some point”.  To insure it didn’t happen again, I wrote in red sharpie on the back of my hands, “Black Beer” and “Yellow Cap”.

That was one highlight of the day, but the real highlight was being shown and allowed to dry hop the Hippie IPA with Cascade pellets for aroma.  Hop pellets are so funny looking, they remind me of gerbil food from 5th grade science class.  However, they offer brewers a great advantage in that they are more consistent in their bittering and aroma capabilities and more stable during the boil than regular full hops.  Anyways, the point of this little story is that even after my little accident I came away feeling like a big girl and one step further on the brewing yellow brick road.

Leave a Reply

