Swine Flu Pie

7 Jan

After much harranging by my mother, I decided to get the swine flue vaccine today.  I was so NOT going to get it after watching this video…which admittedly made me laugh uncontrollably for a short time before I freaked out a bit.  The news story triggered my friends to respond to any comment with “I’m just cherishing every step”.  So, when I got home today after tokyo driftin’ my way through ridiculous snow filled streets, I decided to make sorbet and pie for the first time ever.  Since I have to wait 10 days to figure out if I’ll be rendered insanely disabled from a shot, I’m gonna live it up with some sweet food.

For the past 4 hours, I’ve been watching VH1’s 100 Most Shocking Music Moments while cooking.  I started off with George Jones getting a DUI for driving raving drunk on his John Deer lawn mower down a highway and my great grandmother Grace’s pie crust recipe.

All mixed up in a bowl:

2 cups flour

6-7 tablespoons of butter

3/4 teaspoons baking powder

a little salt (and probably a little sugar)

enough ice water and extra flour to make a nonsticky dough

Rolled out and then draped in a butter lined pie pan

Then I layered pretty slices of Beckwith Orchards Jonagold apples, fontina cheese, Ghiradelli unsweetened cocoa powder, more apples and crushed up baking chocolate.  I think next time I’ll layer the very top with sugar before placing the top crust.  I gotta say it’s kinda weird because the cheese gives the slightest chewiness to the other textures but fontina isn’t a particularly strong cheese so it doesn’t overpower the other tastes.  Definitely more sugar next time.

I pulled the pie out after 15 mins @ 400° and then a half hour @ 350° and with the shocking music moment of John Lennon saying the Beatles were more famous than Jesus.  Amen brother.

One Response to “Swine Flu Pie”

  1. jihan January 7, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    I CAN STILL WALK FORWARDS!

Leave a Reply

