NYT Travel Section

27 Dec

I have another sad.  This time it’s because around this time last year I was preparing myself for a semester in Milan.  I still haven’t unpacked a bag from when I got back in May.  Anyways, today my mom set aside an article in the New York Times about Parma, which of course, made me all googley and nostalgic as Parma was where I spent my 21st birthday.  I was skimming along the article on “Stendahl in Parma” from today’s paper and found their summation bit “Where to Eat”, on the last page:  “Meals are a delight in Parma; if you’re on a diet, stay home.  Lunch for two, with wine, of course, should cost you about 60 euros” (Begley, Adam. “Stendahl in Parma.” New York Times Travel Section, December 27, 2009.).

EXCUSE ME!!!??? 60 euros my ass!  Anyone who thinks that a lunch anywhere in Italy should “of course” cost 60 euro can kindly blow it out their ass.  That is the most ridiculous thing I’ve heard!  Perhaps this is part of the death of the newspaper/magazine in our culture.  There are so many television shows, blogs, etc. showing that good eating doesn’t mean you have to be made of money bags.  These writers need to get some perspective because I’m sure, besides me, that people in Parma are dying laughing at the idea of 60 euro lunches.

One Response to “NYT Travel Section”

  1. Mamma December 27, 2009 at 10:17 pm #

    Bébé, what you have forgotten is that you have actually had dinner with the author of the “Stendhal in Parma” article in the NYT, when you were a bébette: once in the small college town, at the house he and his wife Isabelle were living in, and once in our house here in the great white north, after they returned from London. This was, of course, in the previous century. Having lost contact with Adam and Isabelle (who, I understand are no longer married) — not surprising, given that you were just a child, you will have to rely on ahoppypipper to enrich Adam’s understanding of wining and lunching in Parma for less than 60 euros.

Leave a Reply

