San Siro

21 Oct

I have to say that very little in the way of sandwiches can compare to the Gunes Istanbul Doner Kebab but when it’s freezing and you’ve walked 5 miles in a scary part of Milan at night to reach the San Siro Stadium (in which A.C. Milan and Inter share the field) the smashed sausage panini flowing out of the night food stands are AWESOME.

le miei amici ed io al San Siro

photo courtesy of AS-H

They turn out the sandwiches in lightning speed and they are the only type offered for miles: bread halved, grilled smashed flat sausage, grilled peppers and onions, mayo and ketchup.  Knocked back with a Tennents Super and the two combine to ward off the frigid temperatures until you’re crowded into the stadium jostled by the enthusiastic fans screaming “VAFFANCULOOOOOO!!!” to the opposing team and their fans.

san siro

photo courtesy of JB

5 Responses to “San Siro”

  1. traPISSED October 25, 2009 at 9:00 am #

    Awsome you gotta love Maldini, shame he had to retire.

  2. ahoppypipper October 27, 2009 at 8:29 pm #

    True. I’m all about the Brazilians though — Pato, Kaka and Ronaldhino. Kaka lived around the corner from my apartment in Milan! Ahhhh to be back and not in the States.

  3. traPISSED October 27, 2009 at 10:26 pm #

    I did not realize you had gone back to Italy!! My sister lives in London and my parents are going to live in Austria so I am also looking to escape. No point in me staying in soggy Ireland. Upon completion of my degree this spring I have my sights firmly set on Toronto. Can’t wait!!

  4. ahoppypipper October 27, 2009 at 11:31 pm #

    No not back yet, just dreaming of it!

  5. traPISSED October 27, 2009 at 11:40 pm #

    Oops!!

    Oh well, keep up the good work on the site and I’m sure more readers will follow.

    P’s that rant you did about Coors was excellent, made me chuckle.

Leave a Reply

