Friday is a Grill Day

20 Sep

I grilled again the other Friday with great food, beer, company and weather.  This time I took it easy on the pre-lighter soaked charcoal and in so doing, managed to avoid the third degree burns of my first attempt.  On the menu:  grilled corn in their husks, portobello mushrooms, red peppers, chicken liver marinated in olive oil/soy sauce/cumin, hot doggies,  strip steaks, pita and  a sauce made of Fage 0% yogurt+chopped cilantro+diced garlic.  We were all so stuffed that hardly any of us made it out to the parties that night.  The assorted dishes and food stuffs also didn’t make it out of the trunk of my car until today, 2 weeks later…SO gross, really have to stop being lazy.

grill time with lovely lady helpers hard at work

photo courtesy of MK

Anyway, the surprise of the experience was the liver.  I guess it really shouldn’t have been a surprise but I was shocked at how velvety the liver was after its long sojourn on the grill.  I kept forgetting it wasn’t heart and therefore not a muscle that would toughen up if I wasn’t careful.  I really shouldn’t have been so taken aback since I’m a big fan of foie gras.  In any case, it was delicious nestled in a hot pita with the yogurt sauce some jalapenos and peppers.  I liked the liver and I’m still trying to break into offal but the local market doesn’t stock it!  That said, long live grillin’ days, cuz they’re the best.

grill mistress

photo courtesy of MK

2 Responses to “Friday is a Grill Day”

  1. traPISSED September 22, 2009 at 3:40 pm #

    Sounds lovely especially with the peppers

  2. JIHAN October 19, 2009 at 12:00 am #

    YUM. I want this again! Too bad it’s freezing now!

Leave a Reply

