Peter Piper Picked a Peck of Pickled Peppers

13 Sep

This was the awful nursery rhyme that has followed me from birth.  It didn’t help that I’ve always had at least one friend named Peter in my classes/life, thus the song that never ends.  This summer, embracing the rhyme,  I started growing my own jalapenos, habaneros and hot banana peppers.  I even tried my hand at pickling, but have yet to taste the results since they might have stayed unrefridgerated in my car for about a week.

photo courtesy of my mother

photo courtesy of my mother

The fun of growing the peppers was what any gardener or green-thumb wannabe experiences: watching the blossoms sprout, the beginnings of the peppers crowning until they become full fruit on the branch and then color up.  The not-so-fun part was waging an incessant war with the fat deer that roam our neighborhood and feast on the new blossoms, cutting down the plants to half their original size.  Every night I would bring the pots onto the back porch to save them the fate of the foul mouthed deer.  They survived pretty well through August when they came into mature fruition, as evidenced by this plateful of glory of which my mother sent me a picture:

photo courtesy of my mother

photo courtesy of my mother

I’m a terrible liar, even to myself, and so it is with full honesty that I divulge that the pickling process I used for these babies was sad at best.  I didn’t have a canning rack (I didn’t even know what they were), I had to run out to the store mid-way through the process to get new lids for my mason jars and luckily grabbed some pickling salt just in casies.  It was a MacGyver job to say the least — I threw in a splash of pickling salt into my 3 mason jars hoping it would do the trick.  Update soon when I get the courage to open the jars.

[On a side note, the little umbrella girl on Morton’s salt, is an awesome nostalgic label — but that’s a whole other paper’s-worth on brand loyalty.]

One Response to “Peter Piper Picked a Peck of Pickled Peppers”

  1. Zach September 15, 2009 at 4:27 pm #

    How many peppers CAN a pickled Piper pick?

Leave a Reply

