Ugh

3 Sep

I’m back at school where the food options are pretty dismal and our dining hall has to be putting laxatives in the food. Not fun.  Sadly I haven’t been able to cook much besides the first night of grilling which was very fun.  The first week back is off to a slow, plodding start with boring homework and an unmotivated me.  However, I have been able to re-examine the local beer scene which is really in a fledgling state but surprisingly good for our area.  On Ratebeer we are considered to be in “Rural USA” … no joke, we are surrounded by the Amish and meth labs.

There are a few individuals that run the bar scene (a whopping 3 in town) that are paying attention to good beer.  There’s Bob at The Village Market who has been stocking micros for years now and as of this year even had a Baladin Super and La Rulles Triple.  At the Gambier Grille, more commonly known as The Cove, they have some micros on tap and then a very small bottle selection including Anchor Porter, Great Lakes and Sam Adams.  A trip to the greats of Columbus is in order very soon because as much as I like a good Two Hearted at the bar, I’m going to be thirsting for the weird and strange before too long.  I do have one greatly anticipated beer I get to share tomorrow — Baladin Xyauyù Etichetta Oro that I’m incredibly excited about.  A 2005 bottle I purchased at A Tutta Birra in Milano, will be enjoyed in a short 24 hours.  Expect a full report.

One Response to “Ugh”

  1. traPISSED September 22, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

    First day back is always bad. I just started back today though at least its my final year. Once its over its time to emigrate, can’t wait:-)

Leave a Reply

